HBO ‘Hard Knocks’ schedule 2021: How to watch, stream training camp with Dallas Cowboys

HBO will become HBDC this August: How ‘Bout ‘Dem Cowboys?

The Cowboys return as the subject of HBO’s long-running NFL training camp docuseries “Hard Knocks,” and there could be fireworks if last year’s drama seeps into this year’s training camp. There’s no shortage of good storylines for this year’s season: Year 2 of Mike McCarthy, the return of Dak Prescott, a seemingly svelte Ezekiel Elliott and a team in general with Super Bowl or bust expectations.

This is the third time that Dallas will be the star of the show: They were the subject of the second season of the series in 2002 and the fourth season in 2008. Hopefully for Dallas faithful, this will make for a better season preview than those years, as they missed out on the playoffs both years they were previously featured.

Everything’s bigger in Texas — hopefully this year’s “Hard Knocks” lives up to catchphrase. Here’s how you

‘Hard Knocks’ schedule 2021

  • Episode 1: Tuesday, August. 10
  • Air time: 10 p.m. ET (HBO)

The latest season of “Hard Knocks” begins Tuesday, Aug. 10 at 10 p.m. ET on HBO.

The series, as custom, is going to run for five episodes and will take you right up to kickoff on the NFL season. Each episode is scheduled to be an hour in length.

EpisodeAir dateChannelLive stream
Episode 1Aug. 10, 10 p.m. ETHBOHBO Max
Episode 2Aug. 17, 10 p.m. ETHBOHBO Max
Episode 3Aug. 24, 10 p.m. ETHBOHBO Max
Episode 4Aug. 31, 10 p.m. ETHBOHBO Max
Episode 5Sept. 7, 10 p.m. ETHBOHBO Max

How to watch ‘Hard Knocks’

  • TV channel: HBO
  • Live stream: HBO Max

“Hard Knocks” airs exclusively on HBO, so you will need to subscribe to the service through a cable or dish provider ($14.99 per month) in order to watch each episode live.

HBO’s rebranded streaming service, HBO Max, also carries each episode and offers a seven-day free trial for new subscribers.

How have HBO’s featured teams fared?

In the 16 seasons that the show has featured a team — not counting the league’s highlight series featured in 2011 — six teams have gone on to make the playoffs, including last year’s Los Angeles Rams squad. They shared the season with fellow LA team, the Chargers, who did not make the postseason.

The Cowboys could be the seventh team to make that list if things go according to plan: With Dak Prescott returning, the second year of Mike McCarthy as head coach, and the NFC East generally being less-than good, the team has an opportunity to make the playoffs in 2021.

2001Baltimore Ravens10-6*
2002Dallas Cowboys5-11
2007Kansas City Chiefs4-12
2008Dallas Cowboys9-7
2009Cincinnati Bengals10-6*
2010New York Jets11-5*
2012Miami Dolphins7-9
2013Cincinnati Bengals11-5*
2014Atlanta Falcons6-10
2015Houston Texans9-7*
2016Los Angeles Rams4-12
2017Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-11
2018Cleveland Browns7-8-1
2019Oakland Raiders7-9
2020Los Angeles Rams10-6*
2020Los Angeles Chargers7-9
2021Dallas Cowboys

*Made playoffs 

Leave a Comment