NASCAR lineup at Nashville: Starting order, pole for Ally 400 with qualifying

NASCAR conducted qualifying for just the fifth time this season Sunday when drivers took one lap each around the 1.333-mile concrete oval of Nashville Superspeedway to set the starting lineup for the Ally 400 (3:30 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN3, MRN).

On-track qualifying is a rarity this season as NASCAR tries to limit the amount of time teams spend at the track amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Only eight races total are scheduled to have practice and qualifying in 2021; Nashville was race No. 5, joining Daytona (for the Daytona 500), Bristol’s dirt track, Circuit of the Americas and Charlotte (for the Coca-Cola 600).

The remaining sessions will be for new tracks on the schedule (Road America and Indianapolis’ road course) and the season-ending Championship 4 race at Phoenix. Nashville is a “new” track as well: NASCAR is back after a 10-year absence, but Sunday’s event will be the first Cup Series race at the track. The Xfinity and Truck series raced there previously and raced it again this weekend.

Below is the starting lineup, which was set with qualifying, for Sunday’s Ally 400 at Nashville Superspeedway.

MORE: Watch today’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (free 7-day trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Nashville?

Aric Almirola paced the field in single-car, single-lap qualifying. The Stewart-Haas Racing driver went out second in qualifying and posted a speed of 161.992 mph. It is his third career pole.

The pole is a season highlight for Almirola’s No. 10 team, which enters Sunday’s race 28th in the point standings.

Joining Almirola on the front row will be Kyle Busch, who already has a win at the track this weekend. He took the Xfinity Series race on Saturday.

NASCAR impounded all the cars after qualifying, so teams cannot make adjustments to them prior to the race.

NASCAR starting lineup at Nashville

NASCAR used qualifying runs to set the starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Nashville Superspeedway, the Ally 400. Thirty-nine drivers were entered for the race.

Start pos.DriverCar No.Team
1Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
2Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
3Joey Logano22Team Penske
4William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
5Kyle Larson5Hendrick Motorsports
6Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
7Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
8Alex Bowman48Hendrick Motorsports
9Erik Jones43Richard Petty Motorsports
10Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
11Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
12Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
13Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
14Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
15Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
16Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas Racing
17Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
18Anthony Alfredo38Front Row Motorsports
19Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi Racing
20Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
21Bubba Wallace2323XI Racing
22Daniel Suarez99TrackHouse Racing
23Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
24Corey LaJoie7Spire Motorsports
25Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs Racing
26Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
27Justin Haley77Spire Motorsports
28Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
29Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
30Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
31BJ McLeod78Live Fast Motorsports
32JJ Yeley51Petty Ware Racing
33Chad Finchum66Motorsports Business Management
34Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware Racing
35Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
36Garrett Smithley53Rick Ware Racing
37Joey Gase15Rick Ware Racing
38David Starr13Motorsports Business Management
39Quin Houff00StarCom Racing

Leave a Comment