NASCAR lineup at Watkins Glen: Starting order, pole for Sunday’s race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Watkins Glen International was set by applying the statistical formula NASCAR is using for the majority of the series’ races in 2021.

Drivers’ starting positions for the Go Bowling at The Glen (3 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Driver’s finishing position from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Team owner points ranking (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap from the previous race (15 percent)

NASCAR is conducting qualifying and practice for just eight Cup Series races in the 2021 season. The remaining sessions will be held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course on Aug. 15 and Phoenix for the Championship 4 season-ending race on Nov. 7.

Below is the starting lineup, which was set without qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race on Watkins Glen’s 3.4-mile road course.

MORE: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (free 7-day trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Watkins Glen?

Brad Keselowski drew the pole position for Sunday’s race. The Team Penske driver has produced two top-five finishes and two top-10 finishes in his last five races.

His teammate Joey Logano will join him on the front row. Logano drew the No. 2 position on the strength of his fourth-place finish at New Hampshire in the last race before the Olympic break.

Ryan Blaney made it a Team Penske sweep of the top three qualifying places for Sunday. Blaney has three top-fives and a top-10 in his last five races.

All three drivers have already qualified for the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs by winning a race.

Of the top four drivers on the playoff bubble, two of them will start next to each other Sunday. Kevin Harvick will start fifth and series points leader Denny Hamlin will start sixth. Tyler Reddick will start 13th and Austin Dillon will start 16th.

NASCAR starting lineup at Watkins Glen

NASCAR used a mathematical formula to set the starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Watkins Glen International, the Go Bowling at The Glen. Thirty-seven cars were entered for the race.

StartDriverCar No.Team
1Brad Keselowski2Team Penske
2Joey Logano22Team Penske
3Ryan Blaney12Team Penske
4Kyle Larson5Hendrick Motorsports
5Kevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
6Denny Hamlin11Joe Gibbs Racing
7Christopher Bell20Joe Gibbs Racing
8Aric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
9Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
10Alex Bowman48Hendrick Motorsports
11Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
12Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi Racing
13Tyler Reddick8Richard Childress Racing
14Matt DiBenedetto21Wood Brothers Racing
15William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
16Austin Dillon3Richard Childress Racing
17Kurt Busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
18Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
19Cole Custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
20Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
21Daniel Suarez99Trackhouse Racing Team
22Erik Jones43Richard Petty Motorsports
23Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
24Chris Buescher17Roush Fenway Racing
25Michael McDowell34Front Row Motorsports
26Bubba Wallace2323XI Racing
27Chase Briscoe14Stewart-Haas Racing
28Ryan Newman6Roush Fenway Racing
29Corey LaJoie7Spire Motorsports
30Justin Haley77Spire Motorsports
31Anthony Alfredo38Front Row Motorsports
32Garrett Smithley53Rick Ware Racing
33Kyle Tilley78Live Fast Motorsports
34Josh Bilicki52Rick Ware Racing
35Quin Houff00StarCom Racing
36James Davison51Petty Ware Racing
37RC Enerson15Rick Ware Racing

Leave a Comment