What channel is the Home Run Derby on today? Time, participants for 2021 MLB All-Star contest

After an absence in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Home Run Derby is back.

And it should return with a bang. Coors Field is one of the most hitter-friendly ballparks in baseball, with Baseball Savant listing it as the fifth-best stadium to hit home runs.

This will also be the sixth season the derby is conducted in brackets. The sluggers will be paired off in brackets aiming to out-hit the other in a format that has become popular among fans for its fast-paced action.

Here’s a breakdown of how you can watch the Home Run Derby on Monday.

MORE: Watch the Home Run Derby live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

What channel is the Home Run Derby on today?

  • TV channel: ESPN | ESPN2 (Statcast)
  • Live stream: ESPN+ | fuboTV

Looking to see some baseballs put into orbit? Tune into ESPN to watch the action at Coors Field. If you’re interested in the numbers behind each long ball, follow the event on ESPN2, where the Statcast broadcast will be carried. Karl Ravech and Eduardo Perez will be in the booth for the coverage on ESPN with Buster Olney and Marly Rivera reporting on the broadcast, while Jason Benetti, Jessica Mendoza and Mike Petriello will call the Statcast edition.

For those wanting to stream the event online, fans can find the broadcast on ESPN+ and on fuboTV, which offers a seven-day free trial.

What time does the Home Run Derby start?

  • Time: 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

Live coverage of the Home Run Derby will start on Monday at 7 p.m. ET with Baseball Tonight airing on ESPN and on ESPN2, with the latter being the Statcast Edition. The derby itself will begin at 8 p.m. ET.

2021 Home Run Derby participants

The 2021 field looks set to deliver a thrilling show on Monday. There’s two-way phenom Shohei Ohtani, reigning derby champ Pete Alonso, hometown hero Trevor Story and young star Juan Soto all set to take their swings in Coors Field. And that’s just a start. Rangers outfielder Joey Gallo might have the most raw power of any player in the majors, Royals catcher Salvador Perez could become the first catcher to win the derby, Athletics first baseman Matt Olson has been one of the best power hitters in the past four years and Orioles first baseman Trey Mancini is having a remarkable comeback season after beating cancer.

Here’s how the first round of brackets will shape up in the first round of the Home Run Derby.

Bracket 1

1Shohei Ohtani
8Juan Soto

Bracket 2

4Salvador Perez
5Pete Alonso

Bracket 3

2Joey Gallo
7Trevor Story

Bracket 4

3Matt Olson
6Trey Mancini

Past Home Run Derby champions

Only one player has won the derby three times, and that would be Hall of Famer Ken Griffey Jr., who won the second of his three crowns in Coors Field back in 1998. He went on to win the next year at Fenway Park for his second straight title — the first of two players to win in back-to-back years. Yoenis Cespedes was the second batter to win in back-to-back years, when he won in 2013 and 2014. If Alonso wins this year, he’d be the third player to win in two straight derbies.

Here’s the full list of past champions in the Home Run Derby.

YearPlayerTeamPark (City)
2019Pete AlonsoMetsProgressive Field (Cleveland)
2018Bryce HarperNationalsNationals Park (Washington, D.C.)
2017Aaron JudgeYankeesMarlins Park (Miami)
2016Giancarlo StantonMarlinsPetco Park (San Diego)
2015Todd FrazierRedsGreat American Ballpark (Cincinnati)
2014Yoenis CespedesAthleticsTarget Field (Minneapolis)
2013Yoenis CespedesAthleticsCiti Field (New York City)
2012Prince FielderTigersKauffman Park (Kansas City)
2011Robinson CanoYankeesChase Field (Phoenix)
2010David OrtizRed SoxAngel Stadium (Anaheim)
2009Prince FielderBrewersBusch Stadium (St. Louis)
2008Justin MorneauTwinsYankee Stadium (New York City)
2007Vladimir GuerreroAngelsAT&T Park (San Francisco)
2006Ryan HowardPhilliesPNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005Bobby AbreuPhilliesComerica Park (Detroit)
2004Miguel TejadaOriolesMinute Maid Park (Houston)
2003Garret AndersonAngelsU.S. Cellular Field (Chicago)
2002Jason GiambiYankeesMiller Park (Milwaukee)
2001Luis GonzalezDiamondbacksSafeco Field (Seattle)
2000Sammy SosaCubsTurner Field (Atlanta)
1999Ken Griffey Jr.MarinersFenway Park (Boston)
1998Ken Griffey Jr.MarinersCoors Field (Colorado)
1997Tino MartinezYankeesJacobs Field (Cleveland)
1996Barry BondsGiantsVeterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
1995Frank ThomasWhite SoxThe Ballpark in Arlington (Arlington)
1994Ken Griffey Jr.MarinersThree Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993Juan GonzalezRangersOriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992Mark McGwireAthleticsJack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
1991Cal Ripken Jr.OriolesSkyDome (Toronto)
1990Ryne SandbergCubsWrigley Field (Chicago)
1989*Ruben SierraRangersAnaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989*Eric DavisRedsAnaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1987Andre DawsonCubsOakland-Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
1986*Wally JoynerAngelsAstrodome (Houston)
1986*Darryl StrawberryMetsAstrodome (Houston)
1985Dave ParkerRedsHubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)

*Both 1986 and 1989 saw ties in the Home Run Derby

Leave a Comment