When does ‘Hard Knocks’ start? Cowboys get nod, become latest team in HBO series

Everything’s bigger in Texas — especially TV ratings.

The Dallas Cowboys are set to star in the upcoming season of “Hard Knocks,” marking the third time Jerry Jones’ boys are going to be the focal point of HBO’s long-running training camp reality series.

MORE: Storylines we want to see this year on ‘Hard Knocks’

While the show has lost some of its bite in recent seasons, HBO still provides a decent enough detailed peek behind the curtain of NFL training camps. This year could breathe life into the series considering where the Cowboys are at as an organization. 

Here’s everything you need to know about the upcoming season:

When does ‘Hard Knocks’ start?

  • Date: Tuesday, Aug. 10
  • Channel: HBO

As is custom for “Hard Knocks,” this year’s season starts in August, with Aug. 10 the date of the first episode.

The series customarily runs for five episodes, and debuts on every Tuesday night following the first episode of the season until the series finale.

‘Hard Knocks’ teams

In all, there have been 16 seasons of “Hard Knocks” to air, and Dallas will be starring in the series for the third time since the series’ inception (2002 and 2008 were the other seasons). Their third appearance marks the most of any other team. Only the Rams and Bengals have repeat appearances on the show. In all, 13 different teams have made appearances.

Between 2003 and 2006, the show was not aired, returning in 2007 with the Kansas City Chiefs. It was the only season not to be narrated by Liev Schreiber, with actor (and noted Chiefs fan) Paul Rudd providing voice-over work in his stead.

In 2011, a compilation show of the first 10 seasons was aired amidst uncertainty of the NFL’s labor situation.

The full list of teams to make it onto “Hard Knocks” is below: 

Year Team
2001 Baltimore Ravens
2002 Dallas Cowboys
2007 Kansas City Chiefs
2008 Dallas Cowboys
2009 Cincinnati Bengals
2010 New York Jets
2012 Miami Dolphins
2013 Cincinnati Bengals
2014 Atlanta Falcons
2015 Houston Texans
2016 Los Angeles Rams
2017 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2018 Cleveland Browns
2019 Oakland Raiders
2020 Los Angeles Rams, Los Angeles Chargers
2021 Dallas Cowboys

Leave a Comment